How do small recording rooms affect the sound?

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

TerrorFiend

How do small recording rooms affect the sound?

Post by TerrorFiend »

I'm planning to build a small recording room, approximately 2m by 2m (big enough for a drumkit) due to little space.

Is this a bad idea? Does anyone know what nasty effects it will have on the sound of the recordings, especially the drums?

I know absolutely nothing about anything to do with recording. A complete newbie. I have a decent budget (due to a small inheritance) to spend, so am looking for something above your average "messing around studio" at home. I'd sound proof the whole garage, but there's two windows and I need them for light as I will be living there as well!

Ill post plans in another thread.
knightfly

Post by knightfly »

Square rooms are not good for acoustics, since both dimensions support the same resonant frequencies (called modes) so if possible you would be better shifting your inside dimensions so that none of the three dimensions of the room are even multiples of each other.

Small rooms will never sound as good as larger ones, but you can treat walls with absorbents such as rockwool and help them out somewhat... Steve
Jai

small room

Post by Jai »

i will let the guys that know the graphs and charts answer the technical stuff. :D

But.....

Think about what you are trying to accomplish.

are you looking for that led zepplin big drum sound? you would never be able to get that in a small 2m x 2m room. You have no room for room mics. yes, you can add canned verb but will still not get the results of that huge drum kit. If you are doing loop based, hip hoop, R & B, or pop drum stuff than that room would be great (aside from sq. room stuff) you will get a nice tight kick and snappy snare.