Bose 901 for post-mixing listen

Forum for all aspects of speakers and speaker design.

Moderator: Aaronw

gullfo

Bose 901 for post-mixing listen

Post by gullfo »

I have 2 pairs of Bose 901 speakers. Over the years, I've used them for monitors, PA, and just plain home listening. I find them to be unusual in the sense that they can be very unforgiving on mediocre mixes and especially nice on good mixes. I've been using them now for around 25 years or so, carefully driven with up to 250W per speaker and they still sound very good.

I currently use a pair as PA speakers for my "live room" through which all the electonic instruments can be monitored - rather than using head phones. They seem to be fine for this purpose - I use them reversed - i.e. the 8 speaker back is out front and somewhat aligned to project to each performers area of the room.

What I'd like to do is add them as a pair of "monitor" speakers in the control room for post-mix listening. i.e. I don't intend to mix through them, but would use them in their proper mode just for listening. I know some people who have added high frequency drivers and subwoofer to round out the range. I plan on use a dual 8" JBL subwoofer and a high pass on the Bose above 100hz (or thereabouts).

anyone else using Bose 901's? comments? ideas? experience? pros? cons?
Glenn
Mr. DOS

Well...

Post by Mr. DOS »

This is of course highly opinion-based. but I wouldn't use them for anything other than, "I wonder how this mix will sound for my friends who have 901s?"

I think there are quite a few other choices ahead of Bose 901s that would allow customers to playback mixes. :?
gullfo

Post by gullfo »