a diamond shaped vocal booth?

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

Teflon

a diamond shaped vocal booth?

Post by Teflon »

First, hi and thanks. I've been visiting for two years and searching has answered many of my questions. So thank you.

In trying to follow the "Don't Even Think About Posting Post" here we go:

I want to build the best voice over studio I can on my budget...and given my wife's restrictions (namely that I can't permanently alter the room since we will probably be moving in about 5 years).

I'm still very much in the research and planning phase. I have two different rooms I can choose from and I'm still trying to work out which will be best for the household. My main goal is to build a good vocal booth for my vo business. I had looked at buying a prebuilt, but they are so expensive, and I've read some very mixed reviews on them so I want to build my own. I have lots of DIY experience and no real time limit so I'm not worried about that. I'm thinking my budget for the construction materials of the booth is around $1000.00 to $1500.00 USD. Of course less is always better, but I can bump it up some if needed.

Now, here's my question: I've seen a series of booths online that are "diamond" shaped so they fit in the corner of a room. Now that seems like a good space saving idea to me, but I can't seem to find any info on whether this is a good idea or a bad one from an acoustic standpoint so I thought I would ask. Would it be feasible to build a free standing diamond shaped booth with the footprint shown in the attached diagram? The rooms have 8 foot ceilings, so the booth's "ceiling" would have to be below (and preferrably) not attached to this. So I was thinking it would end up standing about 7 feet 10 inches tall on the exterior.