Help with Killatone project

Forum for all aspects of speakers and speaker design.

Moderator: Aaronw

xqtion

Help with Killatone project

Post by xqtion »

Hi,

First of all thanks Thomas for the awsome Killatone project.

I'm a total newbie when it comes to DIY and I really want to complete the Killatone project. I'll probably be asking the most obvious basic beginner questions. I have the cabinet made of birch plywood and I'm about to order all my parts. I've tried to study as much as I can for the past week lurking around on the web such as Prodigy-Pro forum. I can say I've learned a lot but still I have so many more questions. So here I go~

1) How do I get started after all my parts get here? How do I put together resistors, capacitors, inductors as indicated on the schematic? Do I need a basic PCB for this? or do I just solder them as the schematic indicates? I see these white boards with caps, resistor, inductors placed on your instruction pix. Is that the PCB? Please help me get started here.

2) What kind of hookup wires to use. Can I use 22 gauge tefron coated wires?

3) For magnetic shielding the Fostex FX120 drivers, can I just use these?
Here is the link,
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl ... er=329-212

4) What would be a good power rating for the amp that I would use with the Killatone? Would something like between 30W ~ 100W into 8 ohms work? I have the Qud 606 amp with 140W into 8 ohm, would this work?

Sorry if my questions seem very basic. I really want to start on the Killatone for my first DIY and get into more complicated stuff as years go by. I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks !!
John 3:16
xqtion

Help

Post by xqtion »

Can someone please help me? At least tell me what else I need to order besides these.

1) Fostex FX120 5" driver X 2

2) Resistors R1 = 8 ohm 10W non-inductive X 8
R2 = 15 ohm 10W non-inductive X 2

3) Inductor L1 = 1 mH 16 AWG X 2

4) Capacitor C1 = 3 mfd 250 VDC PP X 2

5) Some wires (which one?)

Thanks