Floating Floor Question

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

bolehnggak

Floating Floor Question

Post by bolehnggak »

Hi,

I'm going to build my studio, which is going to be a room-in-a-room design. Both walls, outer and inner, are going to be brick walls.
The question is, since the inner brick walls should be connected to the foundation structure below, is it neccesary to float the floor?

Ari
John Sayers
Site Admin

Post by John Sayers »

If you want a room within a room - yes - you will need to float a separate floor, unless you float a separate slab on the existing slab and then build your inner brick wall on the floated slab. Why the double brick in the first place??

cheers
john
bolehnggak

Post by bolehnggak »

Ok, so I have to make the room float entirely.
Well, I'm not an expert in building construction, so the question is, how to float the floor then build the inner brick wall?
Brick walls are far heavier than drywall system, and usually (what I know) should connected to the ground. I assume neoprene pads on timber floor won't handle brick walls on top of them, is it right? Or should I build floating concrete floor? If yes, how?

Sorry for too many question.. Hope you can help me out.
Thanks John, and thank you to all people who participated in the list.

Ari
John Sayers
Site Admin

Post by John Sayers »

Ari - Joe Egan's studio has pics of floating a concrete floor at Studios Under Consrtruction site.

http://johnlsayers.com/Studio/index.htm

cheers
john
knightfly

Post by knightfly »

Here's some other info on floating floors -

http://www.kineticsnoise.com/architectu ... nstall.pdf

these guys do everything from studio stuff to isolators for multi-ton punch presses and other heavy industrial isolation. If you're going to put a brick wall over the floated slab, you should make the slab at least 3-4" thick and add extra support