Mosvalve as reference amp?

Forum for all aspects of speakers and speaker design.

Moderator: Aaronw

jc7

Mosvalve as reference amp?

Post by jc7 »

Thanks for all your info and advice! Maybe if you would be so kind as to lend a little more. I have been using Mosvalve MV-962 power amp that was manufactured by Tubeworks, I am using it to power a pair of Event 20/20 passive monitors. Anybody have anything to share on this amp/ speaker combo (Mosevalve/Event 20/20) I'm all ears! My worst complaint with the Mosvalve amp so far as I'm concerned is fan noise, followed by the fact that there seems to be a little noise comming through even when no material is present. Not sure if the latter would still be the cases with say a HaflerTA1600, Alesis RA150 or not since I have no other experience. Once again any and all advice would be much apreciated!

Thanks
Jeff
knightfly

Post by knightfly »

Mosfets tend to exhibit more "tube-like" properties due to their electrical characteristics, but other than that there shouldn't be any noise (fan excepted) - have you tried shorting out your INPUTS to the power amp with a pair of 1k ohm resistors and seeing if the noise is still there? Steve
jc7

Post by jc7 »

First off, thanks so much for your help Steve! I understand the idea behind mosfet behaving more like tube amps but is that a good thing in my situation or not? I'm not going to worry about the resistors at this time, any ideas about fan noise?

Thanks Jeff :D
knightfly

Post by knightfly »

Tubes tend to distort (when they do distort) with more pleasing sounding harmonics; since MosFets, unlike bipolar transisistors, amplify VOLTAGE, they are claimed to have similar characteristics. I've not had occasion to do a head-to-head comparison, but if this is true then MosFets should have a "warmer" sound when pushed than an amp with only bipolar transistors would have.