BIG challenge for a newbie...need to isolate a small space

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

torridheatstudios

BIG challenge for a newbie...need to isolate a small space

Post by torridheatstudios »

Hi!

I may be nuts...but I'm going nuts.

I want to isolate a small space as much as possible. I'm a drummer/bass player and I've got neighbors close by. I've also got a lovely wife and 3 young children (plus one more on the way) that don't need to hear the elevated dB's. I also love to compose and multitrack. I'm usually solo for all these activities, so fortunately the need for a separate recording and control rooms is not vital. This is good because the space is only 6'6" wide. The ceiling is around 95". The depth of the room is variable at this point as a wall needs to be built to partition this space. Could be 12'-14'?

I know...its tight...but I'm a small guy and my kit is compactand easily fits in a 6' wide space so that can go at one end...maybe monitors/recording gear at the other?

I've selected this space because it is at the far corner of the garage and therefore separated from the living space. It is also on concrete slab. Basically I've got a 24' x 30' garage and the back 6'6" is a shop. I want to cut the shop in half or so and use it for the iso room. I want to be able to play loud and not worry about disturbing everybody.

Arg. Here we go...The existing walls are all 2" x4" uninsulated with 1/2" sheetrock. The only material presently separating the space from the attic is 1/2" sheetrock. How can I possibly accomplish my goal without eating up half the room in materials?? To make matters worse, there is a 5' x 3' window in the space to the exterior.