Temporary basement studio - trying to make the best of it

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

bv95

Temporary basement studio - trying to make the best of it

Post by bv95 »

Hello

Im currently renting a townhome with a basement where I have all my guitars and mixing desk. I do not do any professional projects right now, just my own tracks. My goal is to try to create a solid temporary treatment. I'm not looking to convert my basement into a situation that would attract clients, but rather just something that will allow me to get a generally accurate idea of what is going on with my own music that I am recording/mixing.

I am not recording a live drum set, I am not concerned about high SPL. The only elements recorded with a microphone here at all would be vocals; I am an electronic artist.

Images will be attached that offer the same/more information, but for those that prefer to read, my basement is 29 feet long and 19'6" wide. 7 feet up from the floor you will find the floor joists which are themselves 10", giving us a total height of 7'10". On the right side of the basement is my stair case, which starts at the bottom of the basement (from the birds eye view) and extends forward all the way to the exact midpoint (14'6"), with a width of 35.5". Also at the bottom of the basement's aerial view you will find the laundry space which is unusable for my purposes, of course. In the top left corner is a furnace, which is essentially a 28"x28" square of unusable space. The leftmost portion starting at 32" from the leftmost wall of the basement, the topmost portion starting 38" inches from the topmost wall of the basement. The electrical panel is located in the very topmost, rightmost corner of the basement, rendering the space around that useless for my purposes. There are also two poles in the middle of the space, seen in the photos.