Studio Glass

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

Sinclair

Studio Glass

Post by Sinclair »

I'll be ordering studio glass between the control room and live room soon.
Three windows, two panes each totaling six panes.
I'm looking at two 1/4" panes with lamenate between. Each pane is then a robust 1/2" thick.
Anything I need to be aware of before I spend $2g's on this? Are there cheaper options that might provide the same isolation? Thanks in advance.
DanDan

Re: Studio Glass

Post by DanDan »

I am not an expert but I would instinctively go for two different thicknesses in each pane sandwich.
Sinclair

Post by Sinclair »

DanDan wrote:I am not an expert but I would instinctively go for two different thicknesses in each pane sandwich.
Interesting idea. Meaning both panes are still the same overall thickness?
Sinclair

Post by Sinclair »

Couple of shots of the windows I'm referring to.
DanDan

Post by DanDan »

Yes, same overall thickness or greater if you can afford it. It will probably be down to what is available. I think more trumps when you have a sandwich with a damping layer. But different thicknesses will have different weak spots, bending resonance. So no double bubble.
Sinclair

Post by Sinclair »

DanDan wrote:Yes, same overall thickness or greater if you can afford it. It will probably be down to what is available. I think more trumps when you have a sandwich with a damping layer. But different thicknesses will have different weak spots, bending resonance. So no double bubble.
I'm looking at double 1/2" panes per window now. Not thick enough?
Not sure if I can afford thicker...correction, I'm sure I can't afford thicker.
gullfo

Post by gullfo »

do you mean 2x 1/2" per pane (i.e. 2 1" panes), or 2 1/2" panes per window? if the latter is as much as your budget can handle, then go with that. you could later add a laminated layer when your budget allows.
Glenn
Sinclair