Thoughts on trap concept?

How to use REW, What is a Bass Trap, a diffuser, the speed of sound, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

Gonny

Thoughts on trap concept?

Post by Gonny »

Hello everyone. First time poster here. Thanks to all who've shared your knowledge - I've learned a great deal poking around in recent months.

I am a hobbyist building a room for personal use, converting an existing space in a basement. As is typical of home rooms, it is small and boxy. Total space is 17'9" X 11'3", with 7' ceilings (ouch!). Under the circumstances, I understand that I probably can't get too much trapping. Given a feature of the existing space, I have a bass trap concept and am wondering if it is something I should think about more.

Here are pics of the room as it currently stands. I plan on moving everything out and finishing the space soon, so starting to think ahead to some acoustic treatment.
studio 1.jpg
studio 2.jpg
At one end of the room, there is a closet that goes the width of the room (see second photo, above). Right now, the bi-fold closet doors are not installed, but I had planned to install them, for a finished space of 14'3" X 11'3" (when the closest doors are closed). On each side of the closet opening are walls that frame in the closet (with the sconce lights on them). It seems to me I could remove the drywall from both sides of these walls (so they would just be open stud frames), cover the front with a light wood frame and fabric facing, and fill the wall with rockwool. The rockwool could be made quite thick working back from the front of the wall (all the way to the back wall?). I am sure I could move the electrical around to accommodate whatever I do.

Here is a pic of the back side of one of the walls. It's 3'1" from the back side of this wall to the back wall. The drywall is only screwed on at this point as I got in there to do the electrical.
studio 3.jpg