Active vs Passive

Forum for all aspects of speakers and speaker design.

Moderator: Aaronw

Eric Best

Active vs Passive

Post by Eric Best »

I've been looking into speaker building a lot lately. I think I'm going to be going with a kit as barefoot suggested, but I'm also looking at additional possibilites becasue I want more than one set of speakers.

I have some experience building active filters and have been doing much more reading to refesh my memory because of the need to make a low shelf filter to soffit mount.

In my travels i have read many arguments for using all active systems, cheaper, fewer phase problems, more efficient.

Where do all of you stand on this.

Eric
"It don't get no better than this"
John Sayers
Site Admin

Post by John Sayers »

Eric - barefoot should really answer this - I'd just like to mention that if you do build an active system why not mount the amps separately as Genelec do. At left bank the amps are mounted under the speaker where the controls and power switch are accessible. Genelec provide a mounting kit as an option.

cheers
john
barefoot

Post by barefoot »

Eric,

As with anything the final result depends on the quality of the implementation, but with all else equal, active filters are better than passive. Even so, the quality of the drivers and how they are integrated into a total system is much more important than active versus passive.

The primary advantage of active systems is buffering the filters from the drivers which otherwise present complex frequency and power dependent loads. Direct coupling to the power amplifier can also enhance the performance of some drivers that rely more heavily on electrical damping rather than mechanical damping.