MASONIC LODGE STUDIO BUILD IN NEW ZEALAND

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

Lord Echo

MASONIC LODGE STUDIO BUILD IN NEW ZEALAND

Post by Lord Echo »

Hello from New Zealand everybody.

I’m at the outset of the design and build of what for me is a dream come true in a small town in rural New Zealand, where I’ve moved from the city in order to buy this building.

It’s a former Masonic Lodge with a concrete floor, built partially of concrete block, and comprising of two hall sized spaces, a foyer and various other small rooms. I will live in one half and build a control room/live room in the other half.

I’m a reasonably successful solo artist - so at this stage, the purpose of the studio is not commercial in nature in the sense that it won’t be for hire. I will produce and record my own music here, mostly on my own, but will also have groups come through - either friends or music I believe in or want to support. So it’s primary set up will be for ease of solo tracking and mixing, with the capacity to accommodate larger groups.

I make music that sonically takes all its cues from the mid 60s to the mid 70s, and which is often played by DJs to people dancing in clubs (well…when that was still a thing). So in terms of loudness, I don’t mix particularly loud but I do have my sub set at a high level emulating what the most sub heavy club or festival system will do. And when I’m trying to get my low end balance, or engineering kick and bass I do have that loud so I can hear what I’m doing. And the other thing is that I do prefer to work in the early hours of the morning!