Turning my walk-in closet into a vocal room. Need feedback.

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

CarlosM

Turning my walk-in closet into a vocal room. Need feedback.

Post by CarlosM »

Hello everybody,

I am a Miami-based journalist who runs a news site called PINAC News where I have been reporting on police abuse and corruption for the past 14 years. I am planning on launching a weekly podcast show where I will discuss the stories of the week as well as interview people relevant to the issue of criminal justice reform.

Since I work from home, I’ve decided to turn the walk-in closet in my bedroom into a vocal booth. The space is about 25 square feet so it’s not very big but it will only be used by me. The guests I will interview will be at their own location and I will ask them to record the interview on Zoom and have them send it to me to ensure the best possible audio.

As you can see in the Sketchup design, the closet space has five sides and I plan to stand in the middle of the room and speak towards the short, slanted wall. I also plan to add a floating table to the right side of the closet as you can see in the sketch.

The dimensions of the room are 68” x 51” x 25” x 37” x 55” and they are listed in the screenshots of the Sketchup design.

I did not add any diffusers, acoustic panels or bass traps to the sketch because I still have not figured out how to place them precisely on the software.

My condo is on the 11th floor and although I live in a noisy area, the noise factor within my condo is not bad as long as I have my balcony door closed. When I stand in my empty closet while using a decibel-measuring app and not making any sound, I register 35 decibels inside the closet with the flimsy door shut. When I stand outside the closet on the other side of that flimsy door, I register about 45 decibels.