Drum studio and several rehearsal rooms on the same floor.

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

Phonic_Norway

Drum studio and several rehearsal rooms on the same floor.

Post by Phonic_Norway »

Hi and thanks for this wonderful forum! I have read through 100s of threads and am impressed with all the knowledge found among the members here. Lots of useful reading material for a beginner like me. I still have a couple of questions I hope someone can help me with. But first I can introduce myself and what plans I have as I think it can be helpful to find the right solution for my use.
I am a 50 year old drummer from Norway, with minimal experience or education in sound engineering or construction of a studio / rehearsal room. In addition to being a drummer, I do some drum teaching, and I restore old drum kits, something I come back to in connection with the building I want some advice on.

I have rented a building of approx. 160 sqm which will contain 3 "soundproof" rooms in addition to a hallway, an office, a workshop, a small toilet and a room for the ventilation system. 2 of the "soundproof" rooms will be used as rehearsal rooms for bands. The last room will be used by myself to play drums, teach drumming, the opportunity to record drums, as a showroom for drum kits I have restored, and the room will eventually also be able to be used as a control room / studio / liveroom.