Studio Construction in France

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

faucon2001

Studio Construction in France

Post by faucon2001 »

Hi,

As it is my first post, let me introduce myself.
I am a 53 yo sound engineer, living in France close to Bordeaux in the country side. I have read extensively this forum and now it's my turn to seek assistance for my project.

I am going to start soon the building of my studio in a new home.
The live room will be 4.62 m X 6.12 m with 2.70 m high (28 m2) and is made of 20 cm brick wall with 7 cm rock wool and 1.3 cm plaster board.
The house is hermetically sealed. It is the standard for modern construction in France.
From documentation, this wall should give around -64 to -67 dB of noise reduction.
As I want to record drums, I will need to improve this to -90 dB to comply with French regulation for my neighbors.

If I build a second wall with 2 sheets of 1.3 cm acoustic plaster board and 4.5 cm rock wool, according to supplier specs I could improve it by 20 dB, but reading the forum I learnt that a triple leaf wall is less efficient than a double leaf. In this case (brick wall + 7cm rock wool + double plaster board + 4.5 cm rock wool + double plaster board) should it be considered 2 or 3 leafs wall?

What would you recommend?
DanDan

Re: Studio Construction in France

Post by DanDan »

Bass Frequencies pass through walls very easily, while High Frequencies can be stopped by a curtain.
So single figure dB Transmission Loss numbers have little meaning. 90dB is an extreme number, impossible at LF really.
Recording drums is about the single most difficult challenge. Think about recording with temporary drums. Programmed or played E-Drums.
Replace all or some of the sounds at the end. You will find it hard to get a better Kick or Tom recording than say the Roland V drums. Hats and Snare and Ride need to be natural.