Integral Garage Conversion

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

jimmoon

Integral Garage Conversion

Post by jimmoon »

2.jpg
2.jpg
Hi there

I hope I have filled out my profile correctly. Hoping to get some advice on a build I am yet to start but I have my design up to a reasonable level, sketchup screenshots attached.

I am a producer, though not professional. I do not play drums but do make a racket with my guitar, various synths and mics. My neighbours do not give a monkeys, the house is fully detached and they have parties all te time anyway. That said, new neighbours may be less understanding. My main concern is the bleed of noise into the room above, which is a bedroom. As such my overall attenuation target is going to be what I can achieve with the ceiling, most of the rest of my measures are to prevent flanking routes for noise to reach the room above.

My room is 4.6m (L) x 2.6m (W) x 2.7m (H)

The long walls are both brick cavity with no fill, as is the section over the garage door. The rear wall is concrete render though I am uncertain of the composition behind.

You will notice a strange void under the floor in my diagrams, this is an old inspection pit that will be filled with concrete before screeding the floor, then laying my DPM and tanking that to the DPC and laying celotex on top. On top of the Celotex will be an engineered wood floor. I wonder if there is any practical use for a void underneath a studio space before I go ahead and fill it. I can't imaging it would be anything other than trouble.

My outer stud in the old garage doorway will be built off of a new concrete footing and the screed will lap up to this. The inner stud will be built on top of the screed. I will also be building a stud wall at the back of the room, again on the layer of screed, where my plug sockets can be surface mounted to noggins.