Room within a Room, Warehouse with loud overhead

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

bdkauff

Room within a Room, Warehouse with loud overhead

Post by bdkauff »

Hello all! First time poster, long-time lurker.

I'm a composer planning to build a "room-within-a-room" in a large warehouse space that my theater company rents.

Goals
Since I'm going to be doing a lot of composing, mixing and some small-scale recording, the priority for the room is for it to be quiet enough amidst the activity of the building. I think that's the biggest challenge--the building is a warehouse-style office building, and the "ceilings" of our unit are basically the floorboards of the floor above us. You can hear almost everything going on above.

We are not generating a lot of loud music, most common loudest instrument being piano. If anything we record pretty quiet stuff (cello, acoustic guitar, vocals, voice-over).

Room
The floor is thick concrete above earth, so I don't plan on floating the floor. The room will be a rectangle ~22'x17'x12', situated in the corner of the existing unit, so two of the "outer" walls of the studio will be the brick walls that form the larger unit. The ceiling of the unit has all kinds of pipes, conduit, etc., so the idea is for the studio ceiling to sit on the walls only, but below the pipes above us.

HVAC
The unit has HVAC and the building is very efficient, so for the studio room, we don't plan on needing heat. For AC, we're looking into a standalone floor unit outside the room that can feed air into the room via a short duct.

Drawings