Ceiling mass considerations, help needed.

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

Adonikam

Ceiling mass considerations, help needed.

Post by Adonikam »

Hi,

I've been a long time reader of this forum but first time poster, this place is a absolute treasure trove of information and I want to start by thanking everyone that has posted here over the years.

I've been managing a large rehearsal studio (16 studios) for 7 or 8 years, unfortunately we have to close our doors due to Covid, but with sad endings come new beginnings. I've taken it upon my self to build a new studio in its place just down the road. Working there for as long as I have, I think I've got a pretty good idea of what worked, what didn't and what could be improved.

Now to the nitty gritty...

Since I am building the structure from scratch I'm facing a plethora of engineering issues that honestly I'm not equipped to deal with. Obviously I will be consulting with a structural engineer but I want to have the most clear idea of what I want beforehand, for clarity for those who will later become involved in the project and because it helps me budget. I've been studying the timber framing code of Australia to the best of my ability and think I've done a pretty good job sticking to to it with my design. Enter the ceiling.

Unless I'm totally misunderstanding something, which is highly likely, the framing code dictates the ceiling will weigh no more than 12.5kg/m2 without special considerations. I cannot for the life of me find out anything beyond that. My ceiling could weigh up to 36kg/m2 across a 4.8mx6m frame, not including cloud absorbers and PA I plan to suspend from ceiling as well. All span tables for ceiling joists are also penned out under the assumption of 12.5kg/m2, I've been digging for something rated higher but to no avail.