Studio Possible in Seattle Loft

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

DoctorBrowne

Studio Possible in Seattle Loft

Post by DoctorBrowne »

Firstly, incredible forum. Really happy I stumbled upon this wealth of information.

Ok. I just moved to Seattle, and recording music hasn't been too big a problem as everything is shut down and relatively quiet.

Yet, I know this won't last.

I'm looking into the feasibility of building an in home studio in the little room I have hear. I'm an excellent builder and engineer... yet have no accoustical knowledge. Looking for advice to see if this is worth doing.

Goal:
1) Record my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe (115 dB) in relative quite.
2) Listen and mix music in treated space.

Budget: Under 10k
Tools: 5x5ft cnc machine (allowing for complex computer driven shapes) and woodshop.
RecordingStudio_02.PNG
This is my small loft. It's old lumber framing interior with 10ft ceilings and drywall for walls.

Noise inside comes from the three large street facing windows.
The next largest noise source would be the refrigerator, followed electronics and the occasional noises from the tenant above me.
RecordingStudio_02_noiseSources.PNG
While the ceilings are 10ft, I will only be able to make 8ft ceiling for any structure built in this space due to large glulams and pipes for the sprinkler system. I've highlighted the possible space that can be occupied.
RecordingStudio_02_working area.PNG
Currently, I'm thinking maybe a vocal booth where my desk used to be. Then a live/control room where I could listen and record without having to go through any doors. I heard the fib. sequence was excellent for sound so, I concepted this 5ft wide, 8ft tall, 12 foot long studio.
RecordingStudio_01.PNG
QUESTION: