New build from scratch

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

jobody

New build from scratch

Post by jobody »

Hello all,

I am a mastering engineer in the UK. In January, weather permitting I plan to begin construction on a build from the ground up. I have good construction skills (and a dad with a digger) and I would say a basic / intermediate grasp of acoustics, REW, soundproofing and speaker placement etc - but I am no expert, so.. hello and thanks for taking the time.

The size of the external shell will be 5.4l x 4.3w x 3.2h and I estimate after construction the internal shell will be 4.9l x 3.8w x 2.7h

Due to building restrictions I will have to dig down to make sure the building does not exceed the maximum allowed height of 2.5. For arguments sake lets say 1m will be underground and 2.2m will be above.

I won't ask everything in one go, I'll just start with a couple of construction questions if that's ok.

I need isolation as we are in an urban area, my monitors go down to 25hz and I work on electronic music..

In my initial plans I was thinking of having the external concrete block wall on it's own foundations, and then a separate concrete slab within that to build the internal box. Does that make sense or is it overkill?

As the building is sunk and not attached to any other building I assumed I would not need a floating floor as any sound transmission going down would dissipate into the earth. Am I right here? Can I just build my internal shell on the concrete base?

In my mind the walls will be as follows. This is an inside out wall design inspired by John's small studio wall design.

100mm Concrete block > 50mm air gap > 25mm 2 layers plasterboard > 100mm insulated wall structure (thicker at the rear) > fabric