Basement studio/drum room advice needed

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

ScotcH

Basement studio/drum room advice needed

Post by ScotcH »

Hello! seeking some advice on a build in progress ... short timeline, but want to do it somewhat "right". So I seek advice from the pros, and the experienced (ie, all the great folks on this forum!)

I am a rock drummer, and producer/mixer/recoding engineer (in my own band, lol). In other words, I like to play loud, and play with a DAW to record our noise making. Not a professional in either job, but it sure is a fun hobby. I also build and race cars ... totally different, but the footwork is sometimes similar :D

Anyway, I am about to start my basement drum/jam room and sometimes recording studio. I have read a crapload of articles, and watched a tonne of vids. I think I have a good base (and I'm a pretty good study), but need some help to wade through the bullshit and the MANY options. I'm also pretty good with sketchup, so I plan to mock up everything before construction.

Attached photo of the virgin space as it sits right now (just finished gutting it, we've since got the XPS foam up). It's ~quarter of the basement. Here are the specs:

1. Concrete block on 2 walls, 2x6 and 2x4 stud wall on other 2 walls, concrete floor (on grade)
2. 21' x 13', 90" floor to ceiling joists
3. 1 36" door opening, 1 36" window which will be removed and filled
4. 5" HVAC pipes to upstairs floor run in the joists (3x)
5. Some HVAC piping in the space (see image). This can't easily be moved, so will be boxed in.
6. Floor above is 5/8" diagonal pine planks, 5/8" OSB, and 3/4" engineered hardwood.
20201115_151019.jpg
Now the primary goals, in order:
1. Drum/jam room first and foremost
2. Reasonable Sound isolation for rest of house. It's a very open house, and I want to stay married :lol: