Mixing And Mastering Studio, need help REW graphs analysis.

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

Tim D

Mixing And Mastering Studio, need help REW graphs analysis.

Post by Tim D »

Hello all how's it going?

I have been doing my studio for the last 7 years piece by piece, all made by hand.

I would like to know your thoughts on the room REW measurements after the latest installs (new "proper" bass traps, acoustic clouds and wall panels).
RT60, waterfall, rt60 decay, spectogram, frequency response overall and ideas to improve the bass response between 60hz to 150hz

Studio uses UAD Apollo Twin USB
Yamaha HS8 main speakers
Modded Senheiser HD650
Audio technica turntable, aiko amp, and JBL system for Vinyl Playback

Measurements were done with dayton emm-6 mic, lab calibrated by cross spectrum.
I also used a SPL meter lab calibrated (C weighted slow response)
The measurements were done exactly how the forum rules ask for.

REW measurements files and sound card/mic calibration files attached for anyone that wants to take a look at it!
here is the REW project + Cal files for the sound card and mic, its a .zip file:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1oOPELg ... sp=sharing

The 4 Basstraps are 1,13m tall each, they have 61cm wide front and have 50mm glasswool on the inside walls (all 60kg/m3), they are broad band kind of triangular corner traps, the front 100mm glass wool panels fits perfectly in the frame with no slack, and in the front there is a very thin protection black wool layer glued.

The cloud was done using 100mm 60kg/m3 glasswool (1m x 2m), with an air gap of 15cm from the celling,my celling is nicely angled, not sure how many degress but it helps a lot.
The 2 wall panels using 50mm 60kg/m3 glasswool (1m x 2m) angled at 8 degress towards the back of the room.
All covered with black orthophonic fabric.