Concrete Sectional Garage Drum/Practice Room

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

Dave2041

Concrete Sectional Garage Drum/Practice Room

Post by Dave2041 »

Hi all, a lovely and rich forum you guys have here! I've been meaning to post for a long time but I've been nervous not to waste anyone's time, i'll try not to!

Onto the studio build then... I'm a keen drummer and practice daily in my concrete sectional garage in Manchester, UK.
It's internal dimensions are roughly 9.33ft x 17.33 ft (2.84m x 5.28m) and it has a sloping flat metal corrugated roof, it is 6.92ft (2.11m) at it's highest and 6.42ft (1.96m) at it's lowest, the base is solid concrete. I am 6'3" (1.91m)
I'd like to insulate this garage as it is used heavily for drum practice and get's very cold in the winter. There are currently three side windows and an end window which is very worn/weathered and potentially
should be removed altogether. Finally it has an up and over door and a side door. These are both currently wooden and therefore offer little protection. The main garage door has sizeable gaps at every edge,
and the wood has swollen to leave a 1cm gap at one location.

I'd like to build a studio within this garage to isolate the drum sound so i can play without dampening pads, and potentially play with other musicians or teach.

Here is a schematic of my garage layout as it stands:
117655436_298254991409459_7425818192018034931_n.jpg
And my closest neighbours:
distancetoNeighboursss.png
And a few reference shots:
2019-12-31 11.15.38 (Custom).jpg
2019-12-31 11.15.41 (Custom).jpg
2019-12-31 11.15.46 (Custom).jpg
2019-12-31 11.15.49 (Custom).jpg
2019-12-31 11.15.54 (Custom).jpg
My current thoughts are that i should build a studio out of breezeblocks roughly half the size of the garage, in the taller half; and surround this with rockwool;