Building a Studio in the Desert

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

NivenHuH

Building a Studio in the Desert

Post by NivenHuH »

First off -- hello! I found this forum on Google, and from doing research over the past week or so, I've found there's a lot of valuable information here. I have no background in acoustical engineering -- but from starting the research on this studio build -- I'm learning a lot of the really neat attributes that sound waves have -- and considerations for room construction.

A little bit of background

I'm a computer programmer by trade, musician by hobby. I primarily play Bass Guitar and make a bunch of noise with synthesizers -- my husband is a singer and plays drums. We both moved from San Francisco to Joshua Tree to start up a clothing business and to make a creative space on a 5 acre property that we purchased. We've been out here for a few years now, and are ready to build a music space to further our creative endeavors.

The goals for this project / space:

- Friend jam / practice space (electric guitar / electric bass / vocals / drums / software synth -- for now, probably not recorded)
- Voice recording space (I would like to record sound effects that I make, and my husband wants to record his singing)
- When not used as a music space, will be where I record a computer programming podcast / do programming work
- Re-purpose our unused garage / "spider rooms"
- Be able to be loud (90dB) without the neighbors hearing (3-4 acres away). Low frequencies are a special consideration given the quiet environment / distance between people -- and tend to be what bothers folks out here
- It would be nice if the ambient noise inside of the studio were around 25dB
- Convert some garage space into "shipping prep" space, outside of the music studio

Some more info about the ranch: