Jam Area Placement

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

siper

Jam Area Placement

Post by siper »

Hi guys,
I'm buying a new house and could use some advice on where to place a jam area in the separate garage. This will primarily be to isolate the sound of my drums from my neighbors, but occasionally will want to play with a band. We will not be recording anything in here so it doesn't need to sound good. Looking for advice on where to place this "room" but also how much construction I realistically need to do. This garage is on a concrete slab and there is a guest unit above that we'll be renting out sporadically (I wouldn't play if the renters were home so we're not going for maximum isolation). In my mind, this would be considered a 2-leaf already since there's so much empty space between the garage ceiling and the actual roof (but I'm new to this so please correct me). Either Option I go with, I'd also cover the main garage door and side door with an acoustic curtain so I could still use both. Then I'd build a plug for the garage window. The drums are also already on a wheeled riser--see attached.

Budget - $2000 (with discounts from construction friend)

Decibels - No reading yet. It will be months before I can take a proper reading. But shooting for 10-20db reduction.

Option A - 11x7x9. Would butt up against the water heater, leaving a foot of clearance (would need to move the furthest white cabinet & bookcase so I could access water heater for maintenance). Behind this corner of the house is just a small garden (no other air gaps between this wall and the neighbors).