Feasibility of Isolating Studio Above Attached Garage

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

Elusive Sounds

Feasibility of Isolating Studio Above Attached Garage

Post by Elusive Sounds »

Hi all. Long post warning. I tried my utmost to give as much information as possible and go by all of the posting guidelines. I also put subtitle categories in if you want to skip ahead. Here we go... :)

Background:
I am a musician, electronics tech, technical director and freelance sound engineer. I have been researching this and other forums for years. I have read Built It Like The Pros by Rod Gervais as well as other books. I have a working understanding of the principals involved in MSM assemblies to achieve isolation; therefore, I know my goal below will be difficult and expensive.

Overview:
I have small music room on the second floor of an attached garage with a cathedral ceiling. It is adjacent to the master bedroom and adjacent to a partially finished workshop at the rear. The music room faces a busy street 39' in front, and faces two large apartment complexes 108' in front, across the street. The house is under a flight path, and has a railroad track approx. 600' behind the back yard. The approximate Dimensions: of the room are: Floor area 270.5"x182.5", knee wall height is 31.5", and the subfloor to bottom of central support beam 117.5"

Use of the space:
1. The space is used primarily for writing, tracking and mixing, all in the same room. I play and record acoustic drums, electric guitar and bass as well as keys and synth. I will sometimes put amps in the rear workshop when tracking guitar and bass.
2. I use the space for mixing music recorded in other larger, better sounding rooms.
3. The room has been used to record voice over successfully but with some difficulty.