Production/Mixing Control Room Shed Conversion

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

namesakeAR

Production/Mixing Control Room Shed Conversion

Post by namesakeAR »

Kia ora Everyone!

I'm a Producer, Mix Engineer, and Pro Audio Developer/Technician from Wellington, New Zealand. As the subject line states - I am looking to convert the shed in my backyard to a multi-purpose control room for my musical endeavours! After extensive reading of this awesome forum and abroad, I am starting to come up with some semblance of a plan - and would greatly appreciate any and all advice/feedback/critique.

PURPOSE

The purpose of this control room is to be able to track the likes of vocals/guitar/bass/percussion (tambourine, shakers etc), playback, and mix without external nuisance (or me becoming one to others!). My working hours will be the usual 9am-5pm grind, at which time the suburbia I live in is especially quiet (please read on for actual readings). My current mains are Neumann KH-80 DSP 4" monitors, through which I have set a playback listening level of 75dB.

CURRENT SITUATION

Currently, the shed has bare frames internally and mismatched external cladding comprising of Steel Bevelback Cladding (three walls), and Hardies Fibreboard Cladding (one wall). The roof is pitched and finished with Corrugated Iron. There is a single car garage door installed which I plan on removing and replacing with studs, the door, and more of the Steel Bevelback cladding. The flooring/foundation is thick concrete, I have no idea how deep it goes below ground but above it measures at 35cm. There is already an existing room within the shed that functions as my workshop, and therefore has to remain as is - one of its' walls creates the boundary for the proposed control room (the photos I took were too large to upload, so I have made them available through my google drive).

t.ly/1xe1E (LINK)