New Studio Construction!

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

Matt G

New Studio Construction!

Post by Matt G »

Hi all, Matt here from San Diego, CA.

Just finished tearing down the old paneling in the basement underneath the living room in our house and starting the planning phase (soundproof/design) for the new studio. The space was originally a crawl space but the first owner dug down and made a multipurpose room built in the early 60’s. So about half the room has earth behind 3 of its walls. Ive been writing and recording music for TV/Web for 10 years now and excited to finally have a studio of my my own to do full production in!

Hoping to stop as much sound as possible coming in and going out. The ceiling being the biggest concern from foot traffic and TV above me. My closest neighbor is 20 feet from studio door and never has a complaint. I have yet to record any drums in here but waiting till construction is complete. I purchased a Extech meter and put it in middle of room. Playing a fairly loud guitar through amp I got a reading of 100.0 db (“A’” weighting on “Slow”) I suspect when I record drums one day that level would go up…

The ceiling is 8’ 4” from floor to bottom of the joist. The 2x6 joist are 16” on center and the Framing is 2x4’s 16” on center as well. 3 6x4 beams reinforced with steal I-Beam. The two corner exterior walls are 3/4” thick stucco. The lower part of the walls (underground) are cement backed with earth. The interior walls are basic 16” on center framing with old sheet paneling, Cement slab floor

My budget is around $5000 Hoping the make this an optimal room for mixing and live tracking

Questions and concerns: