New Vocal Booth Build

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

mchit

New Vocal Booth Build

Post by mchit »

Hey everyone,

I came across this board a couple weeks ago as I was starting more intensive research on putting together vocal booth. Such a great resource! I have been searching through the old topics to glean what I could from them and start putting my ideas down. I've reached the point where I'm hoping I can finalize a plan and start building in the next couple weeks, but I figured it would be wise to ask you all (as you know way more than I do!) to make sure I haven't missed anything before I get too far into it.

First, a little background. I'm a professional opera singer and voice actor by trade. As a result, I make a lot of noise at times (full volume practicing can reach 100db, though obviously not all the time, haha!). 2 years ago, we welcomed our first kiddo into the world, which is amazing. It has, however, meant that I can't really practice after he goes to bed, eliminating a lot of time I used to use to prep for concerts and shows. As a result, I am looking to create a small vocal booth in my basement that will work to dampen my practicing to a volume that won't really be heard from his room (which is right above my studio) and to also be able to record VO works and audiobooks during the day when there are people upstairs). I was originally looking into things like the Whisperroom, which would likely be just enough isolation, but realized I could likely do better for less money. Hoping for around 50db in reduction. Thankfully I don't really have any major bass-y sounds coming into the house.