Large Second Floor Garage Studio Project

How thick should my walls be, should I float my floors (and if so, how), why is two leaf mass-air-mass design important, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

cgardnerma

Large Second Floor Garage Studio Project

Post by cgardnerma »

Hello there!

First a little about myself. I played in a band for years and have been a studio hobbyist for 25 years. I am not a working pro, but have made records in my old studio which I built from scratch in an existing carriage house. My previous build in the 00's, with the help of Rod's book and I think an early version of this group (??), was a full control room and live room within a room in an existing residential structure. For 10 years, we rehearsed and tracked in it with great success. I have read Rod's book cover to cover twice. I was a contractor for 10 years.

I am in the planning stages (downpayment paid, waiting for first draft plans) for building a new 28 x 36 three-car garage on my one acre lot which will house my studio on the second floor. (Yes, I understand the limitations this creates.) This will replace a 24x24 "barn" that I have been using as my studio for about a year. The current structure is 2x4 construction with fiberglass insulation. The walls are single layer drywall and the cathedral ceiling is loosely fitted, rough pine boards with 1/4" gaps that does little more than hold the insulation in place! It also has cheap thermal windows facing neighbors property. Needless to say I don't have much isolation today, but between good neighbor/wife relations and keeping any loud drum/bass tracking in daytime hours, I have been able to limp by. Now it is time to tear it down and build a new home for our cars and my studio.

Here's some detail on the new project including isolation goals, property, and the new structure:

Budget:
- I am assuming a minimum of another $75K on top of the basic structure, but don't want to chase a few extra dB at huge expense.