Scotth's studio build thread. 95% complete..

Discuss studios designed and built by others.

Moderators: Aaronw, John Sayers

scotth

Scotth's studio build thread. 95% complete..

Post by scotth »

I started planning (i.e. dreaming) to have a music room before long before I had a chance to build a new home.

For reference I had Rod Gervais' "Home Recording studio: Build it like the Pros" and to fill in the missing pieces I signed up at this wonderful forum. I spent countless hours planning, measuring and thinking about how everything would come together well before I took my first swing of the hammer.

For your reference; I'm an electrician by trade, and have done many home renos in the past. I also owned most of the tools I needed to complete this job.

What I wanted: I room that I could have band practice in at any time of the day. I also have considered, one day, using the room to do professional recording and mixing.

My wife and I were fortunate enough to have a custom home built for us in 2015 -2016. A music room was part of the plan from the beginning. With that in mind, we had the basement built accordingly. ( No window in the music room, 8'4 ceilings, in floor heating)

From there, I built a "room within a room" complete with an independent ceiling. All of the walls had a double layer of 5/8" drywall with green glue in between each layer. I also added a double layer of 5/8" drywall to the underside of the existing floor.

For a finished ceiling I built a "reverse ceiling"; the drywall is on top of the ceiling joists with insulation in the middle and burlap fabric as a finish material. (the idea is, that you end up with your whole ceiling being sonically treated.) That's the concept, read further to see how it turned out.