Problematic room needs taming. Advice needed!

How to use REW, What is a Bass Trap, a diffuser, the speed of sound, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

The Sound Guy

Problematic room needs taming. Advice needed!

Post by The Sound Guy »

Hi people!

I've recently discovered this forum. It seems to be a vault of knowledge, which I'll try to take in as best as I can.
A short introduction.
I'm The Sound Guy from Arnhem, the Netherlands. I work as a recording- and mix engineer, also do live sound FOH jobs. In my (not so spare) room in my home, I'm trying to build a room that's suitable for mixing and an occasional overdub.
Right now I have a 2.1 monitor set. The sattelites have limited low-end output. -3dB is said to be @40Hz, but 55Hz is a much more realistic number. There's a definite roll off starting below 80Hz. To help the bass, I use an Adam Sub 10mkII crossing over at 65Hz, running the sattelites full range.

Currently, I can make mixes that sound good, but not as good as I'd like. They travel reasonably well to a high end hifi 2.2 system in my living room and also to my car. There are no big balance issues on either system, except perhaps some problems in the low bass range (which is to be expected). I want my mixes to sound better overall. In an effort to examine where I can gain skills, I've found the biggest problem to be the acoustics of my room. Bass is difficult, but I've come to believe that the mid-range balance and clarity are also greatly compromised by my acoustics.

I do mainly pop, rock and jazz work. I rarely, if ever, mix louder than 85dB. It concerns a home in a residential area. Right below this room are neighbours, as are right next to the room.

My room measures 463cm (L) by 298(W) by 240(H). There is a door 65cm from the corner in one of the long walls. There is a window off-centre in one of the short walls. See attached picture. Below the window is a heater.