Small Bedroom Project Studio - Bass Issues

How to use REW, What is a Bass Trap, a diffuser, the speed of sound, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

Woodsy

Small Bedroom Project Studio - Bass Issues

Post by Woodsy »

Hi there... This is my first post here, i found your forum by searching google.

I am a Drum & Bass producer from Bristol in the UK and i have a degree in music production & technology where i studied acoustics as one of my modules, so i am no expert, but i do know a bit about it. For the last 5 years i have been in a room which i treated myself and built panel resonating bass traps, tuned to the axial modes in my room. I had good results with this and was able to get pretty accurate mixdowns. Now i have moved and i have a smaller room which is not an ideal shape, but unfortunatley, its all i have so have to make the best of it. Its a rented property and i am not allowed to screw anything to the walls so ! am unable to make panel resonating bass traps. My productions sound cool in the room but when i play them anywhere else they are seriously lacking in bottom end… I don’t know what to do… I was thinking about buying some broadband bass traps… but i don’t want to waste money buying the wrong thing and it doesn’t help…. I was also considering buying Arc 2.5 software and mic but again, i am not sure if that will help or not. I have treated all the first reflection points with acoustic foam which i fastened to the walls with poster strips so as not to damage the walls.

Any advice would be much appreciated… I know its never going to be perfect but if i can get it as good as i possibly can without spending too much money that would be great.