Bass practice room

How to use REW, What is a Bass Trap, a diffuser, the speed of sound, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

nobody

Bass practice room

Post by nobody »

studio drawing.jpg
Hi guys,

I'm a complete newb and I'm planning to build a bass guitar practice room for my partner inside the living room. Any information you can provide to help me find answers to my questions below and avoid expensive and annoying mistakes will be highly appreciated.

The living room has a funny bit around the corner in North East which I would use. A true to scale drawing is attached (only the gaps between the existing walls and the planned studio walls are exaggerated to show on the drawing).

I've been good and read the Home Recording Studio by Rod Gervais, some of the info on this site and others. The room would be plasterboard walls and ceiling and concrete floor, a double wall design that only connect to each other at the door jambs. Two layers of plasterboard on each side and acoustic batts on the inside of each. It's all on the ground floor and concrete slab. The lengths of the walls are currently planned as 1900, 2060, 2100, 3150mm and 1900mm high (6'3", 6'9", 6'11", 10'4" and 6'3" high), that's as measured inside the studio. It would have two windows, one in the North wall and one in the West wall.

She would not be playing very loud in there as we're health conscious. We just need the room to improve the quality of my own life and that of our neighbours. Recording is not the idea at this stage and I'm not sure if it's even possible given the acoustics of such a room.

The budget would be as low as possible, such as around AUD 2000 (USD 1500). That means recycled timber, great deals on plasterboard etc.

My questions are:

1) In a room with such measurements, is it possible to achieve any sort of acceptable sound quality for practicing bass and what would it take? Since recording is not on the agenda, some of the bad acoustics can hopefully be EQ-d out.