Help analysing my REW data - drum room/mix-space

How to use REW, What is a Bass Trap, a diffuser, the speed of sound, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

Noisebomber

Help analysing my REW data - drum room/mix-space

Post by Noisebomber »

Hi there,

I've recently completed my drum room/mix space build (original construction thread here: http://www.johnlsayers.com/phpBB2/viewt ... =2&t=20546).
I'm stoked with the results so far and have achieved a fantastic level of sound proofing. I'm a multi-instrumentalist song writer and intend to use the space to record
my work.

The space was comically reverberant to start with and I immediately treated the room with some acoustic panels (as per design in the "25 min, $25 acoustic panel" thread)
as well as placing 4 twice as think versions around the corners as some preliminary bass traps. I may have gone overboard with the panels as now my room is super dead and I expect
to be removing some of them.

I ran a REW test last week using a DBX RTA M as per instructions (60 degree angled up pointed forward from listening position). The only part I haven't followed was the use of a proper SPL meter (I used an iPhone app, sorry I know that's a no no but wanted to see if I managed to calibrate ok before purchasing a proper SPL meter, I expect a scolding and will re-do tests if you think these files are flawed).

REW file is here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/cus6wl17zr430 ... .mdat?dl=0
Files are labelled left/right speakers, both speakers with clipping (the dual test had a clip warning appear after it had run, for the next test I reduced mic gain a little) & both speakers.

Room dimensions-

L: 530cm
W: 460cm
Height room centre: 245cm
Height room sides: 204cm

Here's some photos. The drums were covered up with blankets during test. I've yet to hang the bass trap near the door (didn't think about door position during build!) so have
just been placing it there when I'm working.