Frustrating Hum/Noise in Guitar Signal

What is three phase electrics? how do I wire a patchbay? ask all your techo questions here.

Moderator: Aaronw

Warrior

Frustrating Hum/Noise in Guitar Signal

Post by Warrior »

Living with this frustrating noise that I think is EMI.

It doesn't matter if I move away from my computer monitor. I've tried turning all dimmers off to see if that helped an no difference. I've shut the circuit off in the studio and plugged into a different circuit (with no dimmers on it) and no difference. Used different guitars, different cords, eliminated everything else from signal chain, tried different amps, checked the circuit for bad ground.

The only thing that eliminates the hum is if I face a specific direction or 180 degrees to that direction.

Any suggestions?
I've been playing guitar for over 40 years.
Small Personal Recording Studio
I compose and record almost everything on my own.
Guitars are recorded direct via Axe-FX III.
Soundman2020
Site Admin

Re: Frustrating Hum/Noise in Guitar Signal

Post by Soundman2020 »

Have you checked your grounding scheme? Do you have proper "star grounding" in your studio? If not, have you checked for ground loops? Have you checked that the building ground is good, and that all your equipment is properly grounded, for both signal grounds and also electrical grounds? Have you tried using a 100% battery powered system and killing all the power in the building, then turning on the circuits again, one by one, to find out which circuit is causing the problem?

Lots of things to try still.... :)

- Stuart -
Warrior

Post by Warrior »