Monitor size, yamaha HS7 or HS8 ?

Forum for all aspects of speakers and speaker design.

Moderator: Aaronw

Eugen Jeličić

Monitor size, yamaha HS7 or HS8 ?

Post by Eugen Jeličić »

Hello!
I'm new to the forum, i have read the posting instructions and tried finding a subject with the info i need but haven't found one that answers all my questions.

So i'm a young live engineer with 3 years of experience and much time invested into theory and learning. I have about 60 shows behind me.
Other then live mixing i also do some studiowork in protools. Sometimes with live tracks, sometimes with studio tracks, sometimes post production for animated films or movies.

So far i have done most mixing on my beyerdynamic DT770's, which is quet a pain, they are a good pair of headphones but they lie... and they tire me after a long time.

So it's time to invest in a pair of monitors. The yamaha HS series fits perfectly within my budget and i have a focusrite 2i4 interface ready to get them hooked up.

The problem is this, this is going to be something like a bedroom monitor room. I'm 21 years old, when i move out in 2-3 years i will be thinking about treating my monitor room but right now i'm in the room that will stay the way it is.
No bass traps or apsorbing materials will be installed. And i will have to put my monitors 3cm away from the wall because i have no other option.

So, much less then ideal we could agree.

My room is 10.8 feet wide and 11.8 feet deep, 8.43 feet high.

That's not very big, the room mode calculator shows it won't have much response below 48hz, that should be the lowest axial resonating mode.

So considering these things, i'm in a dilemma between yamaha HS7's and HS8's, for now, withouth a sub!

I heard both, i really liked them both and noticed that HS8's definitley extend lower and have better representation of the lowest octaves.