Newbie seeking advice on acoustic treatment, no rear wall

How to use REW, What is a Bass Trap, a diffuser, the speed of sound, etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, sharward

zsteven

Newbie seeking advice on acoustic treatment, no rear wall

Post by zsteven »

Hello all, I have read all the rules and guidelines so hopefully I am doing this correctly. Please forgive me if I am not :(

I am a bedroom producer and am looking to further improve my listening environment by acoustically treating my room. My budget is anywhere between $500 - $1,000 but I am willing to save up more if need be. I will be producing all the panels DIY with insulation. I also plan on recording in the same space as well but my main priority is getting the best listening environment possible. My mixing an listening volumes are usually anywhere between, 60 - 90 dB (C weighted).

I am seeking advice into acoustic treatment for my room, and also need a bit of help interpreting my REW graphs.

The Room

I am currently set up in a cove with no rear wall. It is 13' 6" to the opening of the cove, 8' 2" Wide, 8' from floor to ceiling. The cove opens up into a decent sized room, the total space of the whole area is 600 sqft. There is also a 45 degree bezel that runs along the top of the entire room.

Here is an album of the whole room including all measurements.

http://imgur.com/a/5yCNI

Monitor Placement

My monitors are KRK 8's. They are currently set up 42.5" from cone to cone in an equilateral triangle. Placed 17" from the back wall and 39.5" from each parallel wall on the sides. Tweeters are 3' 8" from ceiling and cones are 4' 3" from ceiling (So if I did my research right they shouldn't be in a null?). My listening position is at the 33% mark from the short corner side of the cove if I were to have a back wall (13' 2"). I do have a 10" KRK sub as well located under my desk.

REW Graphs