Studio construction underway. Ready to be put on blast...

Discuss studios designed and built by others.

Moderators: Aaronw, John Sayers

poormansporsche

Studio construction underway. Ready to be put on blast...

Post by poormansporsche »

Hello all! I'm currently mid-construction of a studio in the LA area. I only recently found this website and have been enjoying the wealth of information (thank you so much to all that participate). I hope to one day have something to contribute. After reading numerous threads I have decided to create my own. To share the story and also receive constructive criticism before it's too late. I wish I had found the JLS forum sooner. I feel many short comings could have been avoided.

Background information. In another life I was an intermediate level recording engineer. After the scene utterly deflated in the 90s I got into tech and slowly moved back into entertainment though in a more technical capacity. You have been warned. My engineering and acoustical knowledge is likely covered in cobwebs.

Early this year I was offered a job in a music management company and left film technology and post production. The role wears many hats including the current "build a small but powerful recording studio in the house next-door." Demolition and re-framing of the home was already underway when I joined the effort. So some things are they way they are and there was little I could do to influence change.

Goal: The back half of the house will be a recording/writing/review bungalow. The rest of the house will be a space for guests. Somewhat of an artist retreat. Aesthetics are definitely a concern. I'm not going to sugar coat it. Compromises were made. If it were up to me I would have demo'ed the back half of the house in it's entirety. However budget, time constraints plus the work which had already been underway landed me where we are.