Small Room Multi purpose Drummers broke budget design.

Discuss studios designed and built by others.

Moderators: Aaronw, John Sayers

freddiefunk

Small Room Multi purpose Drummers broke budget design.

Post by freddiefunk »

:shot: Hello guys,

I am grateful to have a place where I can share my setup and possibly get some ideas and help on my room situation.

First i must say as the title reads broke guys budget here. I am going to attach three pics two from opposing corners and one sketch I did with dimensions of the room. I did this because its not rectangular.

Here are my uses for the room. Small recording projects ranging from full five piece band to band practice in the same room. Currently I also am stuck mixing in this same room. I know sucks not going to get a great result. Let me say I have been doing projects out of this environmental for about three years and I just want to try and improve on its design.

Construction, walls 3/8" drywall, concrete floor with carpet no padding.

As you can see the drums are in the corner of the room. Really the best place for my multi situations.

My Plans to get a better sound.. Here among other thoughts is where I could use some help.

Im going to build a semi isolated / floating type hardwood 7' x 7' floor for the drums to sit on. Minimum carpet just to hold drums in place. Drum riser

""" My questions are of what should I do with the walls surrounding the drum kit in the corner. Should I try and trap all of the sound with absorbency or have some reflections there.

I do notice as of now without the wood flooring as I spoke of above everything I record out the drums sound dead and thin. I know there are some major weaknesses here in my room. Just looking for any help I can get.

Thanks in advance to those who would read this and attempt to help me on this idea.
freddiefunk

Re: Small Room Multi purpose Drummers broke budget design.

Post by freddiefunk »

Here is the other dimensions picture
Soundman2020
Site Admin