Monitor Stand Decoupling Question

Forum for all aspects of speakers and speaker design.

Moderator: Aaronw

Warrior

Monitor Stand Decoupling Question

Post by Warrior »

I am currently plaaning to build monitor stands using wood (top/bottom plates) and PVC tube filled with sand. I don't want to use spiked feet on my floor and I was wondering if/what rubber feet would work to decouple the stand from the floor?

Just in case, the monitor system I'll be using (purchasing soon) is the Blue Sky Pro Desk 2.1 system.

http://abluesky.com/products/prodesk-2-1/

Thanks!
I've been playing guitar for over 40 years.
Small Personal Recording Studio
I compose and record almost everything on my own.
Guitars are recorded direct via Axe-FX III.
Soundman2020
Site Admin

Re: Monitor Stand Decoupling Question

Post by Soundman2020 »

You don't really need to decouple the stand from the floor (but you can if you really want to!). What you DO need to do, is to decouple the speaker from the stand. That can be done with spikes, or simply with some types of rubber. Sorbothane is supposed to be good for that, but other similar types of rubber can also work, if done correctly.

- Stuart -
Warrior

Post by Warrior »

That's good news. But why do some monitors stands offer spiked feet?
RJHollins

Post by RJHollins »

Warrior wrote:That's good news. But why do some monitors stands offer spiked feet?
one reason might be for those using stands on a carpeted flooring to aid stability.

As for decoupling the monitor from the stand itself ...

I used a suggestion from 'someone', and grabbed a package of [don't laugh till ya try]

Dr Scholl's Messaging Gel shoe inserts. :shock:

I used just the heal section, cut it into 4 pieces, and placed those under the corners of
the monitor.

They were a definite improvement over the 'pad' I was previously using !

On sale cost was about $8.
8)
Warrior

Post by Warrior »

I didn't laugh.... really. (Why is my nose growing?) Lol.

Hey, if it works, why not!