Mastering/Mix Room w/Vocal Booth

Discuss the studios designed by John Sayers productions

Moderators: Aaronw, John Sayers

aswhitehead

Mastering/Mix Room w/Vocal Booth

Post by aswhitehead »

After being in a temporary Mastering space for 3 years we figured it was time to build a new room. My partner and I have been operating a dedicated mastering room for about 9 years. We decided to build the new room on the 2nd floor of my partners new house (he had left a space for it when he built the house). The space was about 15 ft wide by 14 ft wide. As my partner is a full time artist, he wanted to incorporate a vocal booth if at all possible. We knew that it would be tight and tried to come up with some plans. But we soon decided to enlist the help of John Sayers so I sent him this sketchup drawing before our first phone call:

As you can see, the room has short side walls and a low ceiling at 7.5 ft. We knew it was going to be tough and expected John to tell us it was impossible.

We talked to John over Skype...John in Australia, myself in North Carolina, and my partner on his tour bus traveling to singing date. Technology is so cool! Anyway, during our first phone call John presented us with 3 options for the room...1 for just a mastering room, 1 with a vocal booth & stand mounted speakers, and 1 with a vocal booth & soffit mounted speakers. After talking with John about many aspects of the design we chose to go with the soffit mounted speakers and vocal booth. Here is his design: