Star grounging with isolation transformer

What is three phase electrics? how do I wire a patchbay? ask all your techo questions here.

Moderator: Aaronw

Elec Tek

Star grounging with isolation transformer

Post by Elec Tek »

Hello everyone, I am a local electrical contractor in the Charlotte NC area and I am looking into wiring a new construction home studio for a potential client and have a few questions: If i install a sub panel for only audio equipment and the client has 2 isolating transformers (1000 watt each) then how does this affect my star grounding? I will only have 2 20 amp circuits for the equipment which hes says will be plenty of power. I can not figure out a way to make the star grounding pass local code. It appears to me that the grounds for the audio equipment must be totally separate from all other grounds form the entire residence. Has anyone ever wired a studio that had to be inspected and what did you do to pass? Any advise would be greatly appreciated as I want to make sure I am giving my client exactly what he is looking.
Soundman2020
Site Admin

Re: Star grounging with isolation transformer

Post by Soundman2020 »

I do that kind of thing regularly for video post production facilities that I install, and it passes inspection fine. But I live in Chile, not the USA, so I don't know how our code compares to your code.