Newbie here

Plans and things, layout, style, where do I put my near-fields etc.

Moderators: Aaronw, kendale, John Sayers

5forfighting

Newbie here

Post by 5forfighting »

I apologize if this runs long, as I know I can be a bit "wordy". I'm a self-taught musician (i.e. I can't read music and primarily play punk/indy rock). Obviously, I'm not exactly a technical minded guy! I have a small, single car garage that has been (roughly) converted into a room that I use for a rehearsal space. I'm getting ready to finish it in properly and was preparing to do what I always do and just jump in and get started. However, as I have a tendency to suffer from "buyer's remorse" (such as spending $3,000 on an Akai digital 24 track console, and then wishing I had gone with an entirely different setup), I decided to do some research first. I've been reading this site for a few days and I have truly never felt more inferior or out of my depth in my entire life... I'm amazed at the wealth of information here!

Now that that's out of the way, here's my situation...