A question about star grounding

What is three phase electrics? how do I wire a patchbay? ask all your techo questions here.

Moderator: Aaronw

Addni

A question about star grounding

Post by Addni »

I've been hearing a lot about star grounding on this forum, and trying to figure out what it is.

I've been working as an electrician for about 4 years, and have completed all I need for bachelor degree in school (I just need to finish a specific amount of time working to be able to take the bachelor degree).

What other type of grounding is there, besides star grounding ? I've only heard of one type of grounding in school, so I'm a bit confused.

I'm linking a document from school, This is an example of how the electrical box (not finding the word I need) should be connected.
Link: http://www.shefakedthehalo.com/arni/star.jpg

This is an example of a small apartment

So, starting from the bottom, I Get a black and yellow/green from the electrical distributor (again, don't know the word). They, have their transformer somewhere in the street that changes the high-voltage down to 230/400V, then where the transformer is they have a copper wire running in the ground.

from their transformer it goes into an disturbution box that is usually every 4-5 houses. There they have another copper wire for grounding, and then it goes into my house.

In the base of my house (word?) I have a lot of construction iron, that are welded together at a few places, then I get one wire coming into the "TENGIBOX" (connecting box) on the picture I linked.

The ground from the street goes into the PEN, along with the grounding in the base of my house, then I also connect the water pipes and bath/shower to the PEN.

From the PEN i take the Neutral trough the Wh meter, trough a.. hmm.. it's called "lekastraumsrofi" in icelandic, can't really find the word.. ahh "Earth Leakage Circuit Breaker" then into the N-connector for that ELCB.